: New Construction Homes in Barnegat – Why a Home Inspection?

New Construction Homes in Barnegat – Why a Home Inspection?

 

 

New Construction Homes in Barnegat – Why a Home Inspection?

You might think a home inspection on a newly built home is a waste of money.  As a Jersey Shore REALTOR®, I disagree.

I recently represented buyers on a Barnegat home built just 5 years ago.  After our home inspection the sellers were told of several defects that they had to remedy.

One of the repairs required was the incorrect installation of a flange.

Home Inspections on New Contruction homes in Barnegat

 

With an inspection prior to closing on this new home in Barnegat, that would have been the builders responsibility.  And in the end, more money in the sellers pocket at resale.

Another problem that would have come to light with an inspection on this home when purchased from the builder, loose receptacles and missing connectors.

Home Inspections on New Contruction homes in Barnegat

 

There were several other problems with this 5 year old home in Barnegat.  Most would have been discovered if the original buyers would have insisted on a new construction home inspection, and therefore more money in their pocket at this closing.

Just repairing the items above cost more than a home inspection!

If you’d like information on new construction homes in Barnegat, or any homes for sale in southern Ocean County at the Jersey Shore, contact Jersey Shore REALTOR® Laura Giannotta at 609-384-6121.

 

Photos reprinted with permission from Wes Goble, Ocean County Pillar to Post Home Inspections.

 
 
 
  

     
Comment balloon 22 commentsLaura Giannotta • October 18 2012 04:31AM

Comments

This is some very good advice for all,  keep up the good work and good luck with your business,   E

Posted by Ed & Tracy Oliva, The Oliva Team Arizona Agents (West USA Realty - Arizona) about 6 years ago

Laura, Doesnt matter if it's 5 years old or 95, I will always find some issues at every home inspection. It's never the end of the world, but a bunch of little things can add up and some people just don't have the skills to do the repairs and it ends up costing them. 

Posted by Scott Seaton Jr. Bourbonnais Kankakee IL Home Inspector, The Home Inspector With a Heart! (SLS Home Inspections-Bradley Bourbonnais Kankakee Manteno) about 6 years ago

Great advice Laura.  Brand new or 100 years old, we always encourage a home inspection as well.                                               

Posted by Amanda Christiansen, Christiansen Group Realty (Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843) about 6 years ago

Laura, all good reasons for getting a home inspection.These things are easy to overlook initially.

Posted by Michael Setunsky, Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA about 6 years ago

Builders may try to cut corners also.  Always best to get the inspection done..and be safe not sorry.

Posted by Ginger Harper, Your Southport~Oak Island Agent~Brunswick County! (Coldwell Banker Sea Coast Advantage) about 6 years ago

When certain work is done correctly, you may not have to visit with it in your life time...good post here

Posted by Richie Alan Naggar, agent & author (people first...then business Ran Right Realty ) about 6 years ago

Ed - thanks for stopping by.

Bradley - we always hope for only minor issues, but better the builder pay than the seller at resale.  That flange problem noted would not have been found by the buyers of the home when it was new on a walk through.

The Christiansen's - A cost of a home inspection is a drop in the bucket when you look at whole picture.


Posted by Laura Giannotta, Your Realtor Down the Shore! (Keller Williams Realty - Atlantic Shore ) about 6 years ago

Buyer beware, even if the home is new!  All good points Laura

Posted by Robert Rauf (HomeBridge Financial Services (NJ)) about 6 years ago

Hi Laura. Nice post!
I believe professional home inspections are a necessity for all buyers of any age home. I even suggest my sellers get one done. Doing so eliminates surprise & stress for them and they get a chance to correct things up front - which usually translates to more money in their pocket in the end.
Thanks for sharing.
Bruce

 

Posted by Bruce Kunz, REALTOR®, Brick & Howell NJ Homes for Sale (C21 Solid Gold Realty, Brick, NJ, 732-920-2100) about 6 years ago

I am an advocate that new or used homes need a home inspection before closing. This way a buyer can have a peace of mind knowing any potential problems ahead of time

Posted by Harry F. D'Elia, Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR (Real Estate and Beyond, LLC) about 6 years ago

You like to hope these sorts of things don't happen when you get something straight from the builder.  

Posted by Kevin Mackessy, Dedicated. Qualified. Local. (Blue Olive Properties, LLC) about 6 years ago

I let builders know that we will be having a home inspection done on the home when they are done.  I also let the county or city inspector know.   This puts them both on their toes tomake sure things are right.  A builder does not want to be known as one that has the home rejected because of things done wrong and the local inspector doesn't want that either.

Posted by William Feela, Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No. (WHISPERING PINES REALTY) about 6 years ago

Newer  isn't perfect...or better....a time to be cautious regardless of the age of the house.

 

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) about 6 years ago

Hi Laura, having built a new home with a custom builder we know the "punchlist" we were left with.  Yes, get an inspector!

Posted by Bob Miller, The Ocala Dream Team (Keller Williams Cornerstone Realty) about 6 years ago

Absolutely! The home inspection is every bit as important in a new home as in a resale. Sub-contractors in a hurry to finish a project can and do cut corners, get the inspection for your own peace of mind and to avoid problems down the road. 

Posted by Suzi Sandore, North County San Diego Homes (RealtyONEGroup) about 6 years ago

You are so right.  The last new home I had we had a home inspection completed and I was surprised the number of things that were wrong.  Thinking iot was new that everything would be done correctly is the wrong way to think.  It is worth the money.

Posted by Rob Renk, AE | Fast Fix/Flip Loans for Residential Investors (Center Street Lending) about 6 years ago

I always advise buyers to have an inspection- whether they are building a new home or getting a resale.  Builders sometimes over-look things.

Posted by M. Lynn Delatte (Developers Realty) about 6 years ago

Thanks for making my job easier.  I'm frequently asked if a new construction home needs an inspection.  Now, I'll just refer them to your post!

Posted by Rafi Footerman, Home Inspector, Mold Inspector, Radon and More! (Mid Jersey Inspections) about 6 years ago

Hi Laura,

I have been posting about getting a home inspection on a new construction home for a long time. I will be performing one tomorrow on a new home that the buyer is not even moved in yet. We'll see what I can find.

I always find issues with new construction.

Congrats on the Featured Post.

Best, Clint McKie 

Posted by Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) about 6 years ago

Good post Laura.

I helped a buyer recently buy a brand new construction home that had no insulation in the attic and the air-seal had not been sealed. NEVER skip an inspection.

Posted by Conor MacEvilly (RE/MAX On Market in Ballard. Seattle) about 6 years ago

Laura Thank you for so Excellent let Advice & Great Post!!

Posted by EMILIA B COOPER, REALTOR® SFR.NCHSE.AHWD, Short Sales, Foreclosure & Bank Owned Real Estate (LAROSA REALTY) about 6 years ago

A home has thousands of components put together by dozens if not hundreds of people.  Some companies do it better than others, but none is perfect.

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) about 6 years ago

Participate